Kansas in August

by Patrick Gale
Paperback

£9.99

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
‘Modern, excellent and sympathetic’
Stephen Fry

About this book:

Patrick Gale’s KANSAS IN AUGUST is a witty, warm novel of childhood and abandonment for readers of Armistead Maupin and Edmund White

Musical-obsessed Hilary Metcalfe, abandoned by his lover Rufus on his birthday, gets drunk, discovers a baby and brings it home to his flat above a corner shop to provide comfort and company. Rufus, meanwhile, allows himself to be seduced by a frivolous young woman, who is actually Hilary’s professional, high-powered sister, romancing under a pseudonym to escape the reality of her own loneliness.

In this witty, bawdy slice of sex and lies, the trio will find themselves drawn together ever more tightly by the lures of hedonism, self-delusion and the inescapable desire to be needed.

The Underground Railroad

Colson Whitehead
Paperback
£8.99

Ease

Patrick Gale
Paperback
£9.99

How Much Of These Hills Is Gold

C Pam Zhang
Paperback
£8.99

Dutch House

Ann Patchett
Paperback
£8.99

“I can’t imagine a man really enjoying a book and reading it only once.”

C.S. Lewis