Kansas in August

by Patrick Gale
Paperback

£9.99

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
‘Modern, excellent and sympathetic’
Stephen Fry

About this book:

Patrick Gale’s KANSAS IN AUGUST is a witty, warm novel of childhood and abandonment for readers of Armistead Maupin and Edmund White

Musical-obsessed Hilary Metcalfe, abandoned by his lover Rufus on his birthday, gets drunk, discovers a baby and brings it home to his flat above a corner shop to provide comfort and company. Rufus, meanwhile, allows himself to be seduced by a frivolous young woman, who is actually Hilary’s professional, high-powered sister, romancing under a pseudonym to escape the reality of her own loneliness.

In this witty, bawdy slice of sex and lies, the trio will find themselves drawn together ever more tightly by the lures of hedonism, self-delusion and the inescapable desire to be needed.

Blue Ticket

Sophie Mackintosh
Paperback
£8.99

The Facts of Life

Patrick Gale
Paperback
£9.99

Take Nothing With You

Patrick Gale
Paperback
£8.99

The Glass Hotel

Emily St John Mandel
Paperback
£8.99